Applications Invited for the ICAC Researcher of the Year Award – University of Copenhagen

21 February 2017

Applications Invited for the ICAC Researcher of the Year Award

This news is redirected by The Secretariat for Development Cooperation at SCIENCE from the International Cotton Advisory Committee.

Applications for 2017 are open from February 1 to March 31, 2017. Read the instructions below and send your application to

The International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC) started an annual award “ICAC Cotton Researcher of the Year” in 2009. The award raises the importance of research to the cotton industry and provides international recognition of exceptional achievements. Researchers from universities and public sector research organizations can apply for the award directly or through their heads of institutions. Researchers from all disciplines of cotton production research, including ginning, fiber quality and textile research, are eligible for the award. Only researchers from ICAC member countries are qualified for the award.

An independent Award Panel, consisting of five experts from at least four countries, representing the major disciplines in cotton, evaluates and decides the ICAC Cotton Researcher of the Year. The Award Panel is anonymous and known only to the chairman of the Award Panel. The ICAC awards the researcher a shield, an honorarium of US$1,000, a certificate, and the title “ICAC Cotton Researcher of the Year”. The certificate will be awarded at the Plenary Meeting of the ICAC, if the selected researcher is able to attend the meeting. The selected researcher will be invited to make a special presentation at the Plenary Meeting on his/her contributions to cotton research and his/her vision for the future. If the recipient is unable to attend the plenary meeting, the shield, honorarium and certificate will be mailed.

Selection Procedure

All instructions to apply for the award and obtain uniform information on nomination details of each candidate are available on this web page. There is no other prescribed form to apply. Applications may only be submitted by email and information will go directly to the Award Panel. The Chairman of the Award Panel, based on rating from each member of the Award Panel Members, will present the name of the finalist to the ICAC Secretariat for announcement as the “ICAC Cotton Researcher of the Year.”

If the winner and the runner-up receive similar ratings, the runner-up can be carried forward to the next year’s program. However, he/she will compete against all other candidates for that year on an equal basis.

The ICAC accepts nominations from February 1 to March 31 each year. The winner will be announced on May 1. Award Panel will judge nominees on the evidence of: awards/recognition (national and international); publications (books, chapters, peer-reviewed papers, non-reviewed papers); conferences attended; major achievements; and contributions to the cotton industry.

The Nomination Package, sent to the email mentioned here, goes directly to the Award Panel. The Chairman of the Awards Panel will notify the ICAC Secretariat of the award recipient. Candidates have to apply afresh every year.

Instructions for Preparation of the Nomination Package

FORMAT: single spacing, 12-point font, 2 cm page margins.

The nomination package consists of the following items: nominee name and address; field of research; Awards/recognitions; publications, including book chapters, peer reviewed papers, and non-reviewed papers; conferences attended, national and international; list of innovative achievements; short summaries of the nominee’s best research papers. The nomination package shall consist of 10 pages maximum. Nominations that do not adhere to the standard form, length, font size, and other instructions will not be accepted for consideration.

Send your Nomination Package to