15 January 2016

New members for the Council for Development Policy are now appointed

News from Altinget.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Kristian Jensen, have now appointed 15 new members for the Council for Development Policy. Among these are Head of Department of Anthropology, Helle Samuelsen, who also act as the Chairwoman for the Working Group of Development, both at University of Copenhagen.

Information about the Council for Development Policy:

The Council for Development Policy provides the framework for strategic dialogue and provide advice to the Minister for Foreign Affairs in relation to the preparation and implementation of Danish development cooperation. 

The Council for Development Policy discuss significant strategic policy initiatives within the sphere of development policy and development cooperation, including policy papers for Denmark’s relations with priority countries, new thematic strategic frameworks, the multilateral analysis, organisational strategies for multilateral organisations and progress in country programmes. The Council contributes with independent knowledge sharing through discussions and prioritization of the annual evaluation programme  and the actual evaluations.

The Council consists of 15 members appointed by the Minister. The members are nominated for a period of 3 years. The Council is composed of three representatives of the trade unions, three representatives from the private sector's professional associations, four representatives from research organisations and five representatives of Civil Society Organisations.