7 May 2018

Make a nomination for the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity

This news is redirected by The Secretariat for Development Cooperation at SCIENCE from AEON Environmental Foundation.

Nominations open for The MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2018.

  • MIDORI Prize awarded biennially to three individuals making outstanding contributions to the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity
  • Unique prize contributes to raising public awareness of essential role biodiversity plays for human well-being and to global challenges like climate change
  • Prize to be awarded in Tokyo in October 2018

(...) The MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity is awarded every two years, coinciding with the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD). The Prize was established by the AEON Environmental Foundation in 2010 to commemorate the International Year of Biodiversity, the tenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the CBD held in Nagoya, Japan, and the Foundation’s 20th anniversary.

The MIDORI Prize 2018 will be awarded to three individuals who will each be honoured at an award ceremony held in Tokyo, in October 2018 prior to the fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, and who will each receive a monetary prize of US$100,000. The prize winners will be announced also in October 2018. Previous Winners of the Midori Prize include (alphabetical order, honorifics omitted): Alfonso Aguirre-Muñoz (Mexico), Kamal Bawa (India), Juan Carlos Castilla (Chile), Gretchen Daily (USA), Yury Darman (Russia), Rodrigo Gámez-Lobo (Costa Rica), Jean Lemire (Canada), Alfred Oteng-Yeboah (Ghana), Vo Quy (Vietnam), Emil Salim (Indonesia), Vandana Shiva (India), Bibiana Vilá (Argentina).

Further information on the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity is available on the website: www.aeon.info/ef/en/prize/

Nominations will be accepted through the website www.aeon.info/ef/en/ between 15 February and 15 June 2018.

Mød os på: