15 March 2018

Call for applications: 2018 Andrew E. Rice Award

This news is redirected by The Secretariat for Development Cooperation at SCIENCE from  Society for International Development, Washington.

Each year Society for International Development present the Andrew E. Rice Award for Leadership and Innovation by a Young Professional in International Development (Rice Award) at Society for International Development's Annual Conference. This award recognizes the achievements of an exceptional young professional working in the field of international development. Previously named “The Truman Award,” the award was established in 2003 by Andrew E. Rice and Robert Berg to honor leadership, innovation, impact and commitment. It was renamed The Rice Award in 2011 to honor the memory and contributions of one of its chief architects.

The recipient of this award will demonstrate leadership and innovation, as well as tremendous promise for advancement in the field of international development. The selected winner will also recognize the importance of international development as a means of service to those who are most in need and will work towards sustainable, people-centered development.


The Rice Award will be presented to the awardee at the Society for International Development’s Annual Conference in Washington, DC. While there will be only one winner, other notable candidates may be mentioned at the award presentation ceremony.

The award consists of:

  • An inscribed plaque recognizing the awardee;
  • A prize in the amount of $1,000;
  • A one-year, honorary membership to SID-Washington;
  • The opportunity to present your work at an upcoming SID-Washington event.

We have had many exceptional and inspiring awardees in the past. Last year's winner, Pascal Masuba, served as a child advocate for Search for Common Ground during the Sierra Leone decade civil war, and later founded Zenith Academy (a home remedial for school dropouts in Sierra Leone). In addition, he stood as co-founder and head of the Social Innovations unit of the African Changemakers Network (a platform that brings together outstanding young African changemakers).

In 2016, we awarded Nungari Mwangi, who conducted field research on cut flower value chains in Kenya and previously worked as a consultant for Dalberg Global Development Advisors, primarily working on agriculture strategies with the public sector. She has also worked closely with the Ministry of Agriculture in both Tanzania and Sudan and is working towards her PhD in Development Studies at the University of Cambridge. 

In 2015, we honored Mariam Adil, who is an Operations Analyst with the World Bank, and who founded GRID, the Gaming Revolution for International Development, that gamifies the practice of international development by creating low-cost digital games that inspire social change. 



  1. Age from 22 to 32 years old.

  2. Availability to either accept the Rice Award in-person at SID-W’s 2018 Annual Conference on May 31, 2018 or the ability to provide a pre-recorded video acceptance speech to be shown at the Annual Conference.

  3. At least two years of experience as a volunteer or paid young professional in international development including demonstrating exceptional commitment to improving the lives of people in developing countries.

Rice Award applicants must submit a two-page maximum (11 pt. font), single-sided personal statement responding to the following:

  1. How have you demonstrated creativity and innovation by developing new ideas and/or adapting successful solutions to problems and challenges, or optimizing unique opportunities, in advancing international development?

  2. Describe your vision and experience leading people and change.

  3. What are some qualitative and/or quantitative measures of the impact of your work in international development?

  4. Demonstrate your commitment to upholding the ideals of sustainable, inclusive, just, equitable and participatory development.

  5. How have you committed to advancing the profession of international development? (e.g., through knowledge advancement, participation in relevant professional organizations, institutional development, etc.)

Applicants must also submit a three page maximum, single-sided resume or c.v.

Documentation provided in addition to the application form, personal statement, two letters of recommendation, and c.v./resume will not be reviewed. 

Applications and all corresponding materials due: Monday, March 26, 2018

Winner notified: Monday, April 30, 2018

2018 Annual Conference: Thursday, May 31, 2018

Click here to read more.

Click here to apply.

Mød os på: